Ontario SP10 Marine Raider Bowie Review: Keeps Pushing

Ontario is one of my favorite knife companies. They make some of the best blades for the money. You can pick up an American crafted knife for a great price. Being a Marine myself, I had to have the Marine Raider AKA the Sp10.

USE: The SP10 is the embodiment of a large combat knife. It can also be used as a bushcraft or camp knife. Holding this blade makes you feel like you could melee a grizzly bear. It’s a hell of a knife.

Huge-Glass_Illustration-by-Gary-Zaboly

“Just a Tuesday with my Raider Bowie”

DURABILITY AND STEEL: The Raider Bowie is 1/4 inch thick, 9 and 3/4 inch long hunk of steel. This knife is the epitome of durable. The steel is 1075 carbon steel. This is a midgrade carbon steel with great toughness, exceptional resilience, and poor rust resistance.

5/5

ERGONOMICS AND TEXTURING: The SP10 feels great ergonomically and has a commanding weight. As a fighting knife it isn’t fast in hand, but it has enormous power. The guard is effective, and the handle doesn’t produce any hotspots during hard work.

4/5

SHEATH: The sheath is effective, cheap cordura. It works, but it isn’t fancy. It is obviously paired with this blade to cut costs.

3.5/5

COST: This slab of 1075 can be yours for around 40-60 dollars depending on retailer. It’s a lot of steel for the money. However, I think I would be happier with 1095 or SK-5. The price is fair. Another option would be the Kabar USMC fighting knife.

3.5/5

FINAL THOUGHTS: This is a monster knife. It weighs 1 pound 6 ounces. I would prefer a lighter knife for a fighting knife, but it can split wood like no other. I would probably not take it to combat, but I keep mine in my truck. I’ve felled more than a couple small Mesquites with ease, but I wouldn’t want to lug it around on my back or belt.

maxresdefault (1)

OVERALL SCORE: 4/5 Good to go

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment